Dogography


It seems that for my entire life I’ve had an affinity with dogs.  I love them and they love me.  I think it is the mutual and unconditional love.  In what other being can you find acceptance for who you are, just as you are, without fail, at all times?

To a dog it does not matter if you are fat or thin, what colour your hair is (or even if you have hair!), whether you wear make-up or not.  In their eyes you being a success is not dependant on how you make a living or how much you earn.  They are happy if you are just there, even happier if you take them for a walk.

I still fondly remember each of the dogs who have owned me over time and they are often my muse for both drawing and photography.  As are anyone else’s dogs for that matter.  I’ve been compiling a collection of photographs of dogs I know, or have known, and thought I’d share a few of my favourites.

First, Bundy.  He’s about 8 years old now and I’m pretty sure he does not know he is a dog.  He speaks, loudly, and this has caused no end of embarrassment to friends when we meet them at a Cafe.  If you do not respond to his “talking” he will continue, at full volume, until you do.  No-one likes to be ignored after all.

We’re best mates and he happily shares his bed, his car and his couch with me.  He follows me anywhere and everywhere – if I’m there, he’s happy and I have to say that goes both ways.  He is my inspiration, in many ways, on a daily basis.  Love.

602510_10151155010423753_661513480_n

*

This is Sasha – she’s a wee bit older than Bundy and technically belongs to my brother but lives with my parents where she is pampered like true royalty.  She’s also Bundy’s girlfriend – they’re best mates and “fight” like an old married couple.

20130118-102909.jpg

*

Meet Paris.  A 30 something kilo boxer who thinks she’s a lapdog and must be touching someone at all times, even if that means sitting on your foot until you cannot feel it anymore.  She owns two of my best friends and receives a home cooked meal each day, living in a lifestyle fit for her celebrity name.  I think she has a secret crush on Bundy also.

Paris

*

And lastly, Dusty.  You will remember him as the part dingo I met on my road trip.

Dusty has now sadly passed away due to being run over, not long after he went to his new home.  I do not know the details and do not want to know as it breaks my heart, I would have dearly loved to have taken him home with me.

Roadtrip - Dusty

Rest in Peace Dusty.

8 thoughts on “Dogography

  1. Only you could put a smile on my face and a tear in my eye at the same time 🙂

    On a separate note… “When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.”

    That is a true fact, I should know 🙂

Tell me how you really feel