Tall Poppy


I was initially reluctant to post this for several reasons…

First, it was my first attempt at what I regard as “proper” painting.  By that I mean that it was a step away from my simple, monochromatic designs.  This incorporated what I thought required more skill and I wasn’t sure I had it.

Secondly, it is not completely original but a copy of a picture that Leanne, my sister-in-law, found that she liked.  I feel a bit like I cheated…

Here’s how it all came about.

My brother noticed my “Mean Reds” paintings and mentioned that Leanne was looking for something to decorate the walls of their newly renovated bedroom.  He asked whether I would create something for them as he knew Leanne liked my Zebra.

To cut a long story short, Leanne forwarded me copies of pictures she’d found on the internet with the instructions “I really like the green picture”.

Leanne's Sample Pictures

My brother agreed to let me off of paying my share of a joint birthday gift in exchange for the painting – it was my first “commission” and I freaked out!  The style required was quite different to my usual, basic stuff and I had no idea if I could give her what she wanted.

To test myself I created a 30cm x 30cm canvas mimicking her preferred design.  We haggled a little over colours to ensure the painting fit with her decor and then I set out completing the final 120cm x 60cm version.

When it came time to give it to her I discovered I was actually terrified!  I was sure she’d hate it for some reason (I actually got in quite a state about it and nearly didn’t give it to her!).  I think the anxiety came because I copied – it didn’t look exactly like the original and that, in my mind, made it bad.  (Of  course I totally disregarded that I’d tweaked the colours especially and she did pick the design out in the first place!!)

So this was the end result…

Tall Poppy
Acrylic on Canvas (120cm x 60cm)

And this is where it now lives…

I’m super pleased that she likes it and has hung it in their bedroom.  I’m also happy that I could extend myself artistically and prove to myself that I can do more complex work – it was a good confidence builder.

Not long after, Leanne forwarded me an eBay listing selling a very similar painting to the one I’d copied!  I contacted the seller and was told that Jack Wang is the artist of this one.

Artist: Jack Wang

While I’m still a little disappointed that I copied I am relieved to find that I’m not the only one!  Sure, each of the pictures are not exactly the same but they are near enough. Ultimately it was a good learning experience and I suppose no harm is done.

20 thoughts on “Tall Poppy

  1. What did I tell you? You can have a niche market covered if you work with interior designers and their customers, creating unique art work for them. That fits the area like a glove. Well done 🙂

  2. I really like your finished painting!! I don’t think you have anything to worry about… you might think of it as “copying” but it’s really drawing inspiration from around you and tweaking it in your own way.
    Keep up the painting I love seeing your new creations 🙂

  3. Lovely M, you should be very proud of yourself….and Leanne you should be really happy with the first of emjayzed’s works!!

  4. Very nice job! I totally agree with George, about there being a niche working with interior designers. People would love to have an original painting that was created to go with their decor.

    • Thanks! I might just have to pursue this idea a little further I think. I do enjoy the concept, the challenge and the outcome!

  5. Wow, I totally agree with the others. I love YOUR painting more than the one you copied. I love your greens better and your painting looks much more cheerful. Plus, it complements the room really well. Great job! 😀

Tell me how you really feel