Review and Renew


I’ve been reviewing this blogging thing and have decided to make some changes for 2013.  Really it has nothing to do with the calendar flicking from 2012 to 2013 but more to do with my inability to sit still, focus on one thing at a time or accept that it may be possible just do something casually, just for fun.

It also helped that WordPress sent me this groovy little summary:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 10,000 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 17 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report (complete with animated fireworks thank you very much!).

I’ve decided that I still love the art stuff and want to continue with that aspect but I also wish to explore my writing (in general) and iPhone photography.

I have been struggling with the idea that what I may wish to write about might not fit within the realm of “Art Gluttony” (my insignificant little blog has been promoted, at least in my own head, to an actual realm).

I’ve also been wondering if I should create a second blog to cater to this potential misfit situation (or a third, fourth etc – hell, I was on a roll, why stop at one?!).

Then I wondered whether I should take my writing to another site altogether, like Blogger or Tumblr or even create my own independent website.  (I was obviously tripping down fantasy lane and got lured in by more dreams of grandeur).

Then I mentally slapped myself (quite hard) and decided it doesn’t really matter.  It’s my blog and I’ll do what I damn well please – it is currently the one aspect of my life I have utter control over.

Besides, writing is art.  Well, except for really terrible writing like 50 Shades of Grey – THE WORST book I’ve ever had the misfortune to start.  It was so bad I couldn’t finish it, that fact alone gives me and instant credibility boost.

So, in order to feed my need, I will develop blogging goals for the next 12 months (I may or may not share them, perhaps it will just be a surprise!).

But first, I’d like to thank those of you who return regularly to read my rants and raves – I do seriously appreciate it as I’ve met some new friends via this blog and have reconnected on a different level with older friends (apparently sharing elements of yourself can do that, who knew?).  And for those of you who have liked or commented, a BIG thank you.  You’re most definitely on my Christmas card list (if I ever actually sent Christmas cards that is).

Feel free to offer any suggestions about what you’d like to see (more or less of) on Art Gluttony.  I may even act on them!

I hope you’ll continue to hang with me for 2013!

10 thoughts on “Review and Renew

  1. Good work 🙂 I love the fact that the post about the painting I commissioned was the most commented on. Just need to find you more buyers now 😉

  2. Oh dear god it hurt my brain to just read the stuff you think about all at the same time, lol. Good luck with it all 🙂

  3. Congratulations! I think this is great- your blog should be about all of the things you want to explore. I know that’s why I enjoy reading. And thank goodness someone else couldn’t get through 50 Shades of Grey – it was horrible and I couldn’t finish it either!

    • Thanks Brenda! I love it when someone else agrees with me 🙂

      And just how crap was that book? Ugggh. Female lead was abysmally pathetic and just a “slight” overkill with the weird sex scenes. Seriously. Give me Stephen King, Patricia Cornwall, James Patterson (or even Stephanie Meyer) any day!

Tell me how you really feel

