Dress for the job you want


I realised recently, while attending Problogger 2012 in Melbourne, that I didn’t rate my own work.

People I met were madly handing out their business cards and proudly talking about their blogs.  I loved to listen, fascinated, at all the different topics they wrote about.  I listened, rapt, to their stories of success and where they planned to take their passion next.  I joined in, enthusiastically congratulating or encouraging them in their endeavours.

Then it was my turn to share.

I froze.

I just dismissed my blog, citing “Oh I haven’t written much, it’s just a hobby, an art thing” and promptly redirected conversation back to them.  In some instances I actually terminated the conversation before they could even ask!

art-gluttony-wordpress-banner.png

It’s just a hobby, an art thing

Why did I do this?

First, I hadn’t written for a while and felt like a bit of a hypocrite for calling myself a “blogger”.

Secondly, I was soooo intimidated by the success around me that I just felt my own attempts would pale dismally against everyone else.  I was embarrassed.

I’ve been giving this a lot of thought (and action) since October.  I’ve done some courses and seminars, read a few inspiring books and had a few things happen in my life that have made me reconsider my choice in “career”.  Imagine if I could earn an income doing something I genuinely wanted to do?

I do want to write.  I do want to create.  I do want to design.  I do want to find amazing art discoveries and showcase artists I enjoy. I do want to build a community of interested and interesting people.

BUT how can I expect others to read, like and follow my writing or creations if I don’t rate them myself? The short answer is, I can’t.

I’m not saying that I should be loving myself sick all over the place.  Nor am I saying that I’m perfect and brilliant in all that I do.  But I could be proud enough of my own content to want to share it with others if I expect to ever build on my dream.

So I’m just going to do exactly that.  I’m going own my content and like it – simple as that.

Someone once told me that I should “dress for the job I want, not the job I have”.

Dress for the job you want

Perhaps this explains my redundancy?!

I hear that “if you build it they will come” – hell, they made a movie about this one!

fieldofdreamscorn

So this is me dressing for the job I want.  This is me building it so you’ll come.

Art Gluttony Cards

Art Gluttony Card (single)

Mini Cards!!!  Seriously, how cool are they?!

From today, I’m going to hand these babies out to whoever I meet and be proud of the content I’ve created, for better or worse.  You just never know what will happen  if I “build it” and add a little faith into the construction as I sit, dressed (in jeans and a t-shirt) ready for the job I want.

And on the subject of building – why don’t you guide your mouse pointer up and over to the left of screen and click “like” on the Facebook icon, I’d love to have your interesting self help me build my Facebook team.

I’m curious, how do you feel about what you create?

8 thoughts on “Dress for the job you want

  1. Some days I love what I create. Other days…not so much. However, the fact that other people like what I create gives me the kind of sense of achievement I haven’t got from any other job. My advice to you is go for it. I hate that expression but, this time it’s wholly appropriate. Why? Because that’s how I got started. We had a run of bad luck that left us having to watch every penny and I was tied to the house at the time so couldn’t help out with the finances by going out and getting a job. My only option was to try and make some money from home. I didn’t know it at the time but, the day I sold my first painting online, it was the start of a whole new me.

  2. That’s inspiring Claire and congratulations! It must certainly feel fine doing something you love on a daily basis and be rewarded for it. I am going to go for it. I am finding myself in a position where I’m at a crossroads with my “career” situation and finding I want more, but different – less BS and more real! Thanks for the advice, it’s cool to hear from successful people doing things their way 🙂

Tell me how you really feel

