I wish I was small


I wish I was small, when hugs and puppies made me smile.

I wish I was small, when holding my parents hands meant I was safe.

I wish I was small, when I didn’t have to remember to “be myself” because I simply just was.

I wish I was small, when I had all my grandparents with their warm hugs and cups of milo and cream.

I wish I was small, when someone would check in on me last thing at night.

I wish I was small, when my dreams were simple and alive.

I wish I was small, when a mother’s kiss and a bandaid would make the hurt go.

I wish I was small, before I knew of words like corporate, redundancy, bully or mortage.

I wish I was small because this grown up thing is no fun at all.

4 thoughts on “I wish I was small

  1. Sad … sad but proud at the same time!!
    Sad because I feel your pain and can do nothing to help, sad because a hug and a bandaid won’t fix things, sad because grandparents are not here to give good advice (or milo & cream) and sad that being grown up is no fun.
    Proud because of who you have become, proud because you have the ability to put your feelings into words, proud that the memories of childhood are good ones, proud knowing that you are strong enough to get through this patch and proud that you are my daughter.

      • Beautiful words from both daughter and mother. I live by “growing old is compulsory but growing up is optional”. I was not fortunate enough is have children but if I did have a daughter I am sure she would have been like you….I am proud that you are my family….and as they say in the classics….”what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger 🙂

Tell me how you really feel

